TRL Levels

For items under development, the Technology Readiness Level is indicated, creating the potential for TARA to act as a catalyst for innovation and collaboration.

Technology Readiness Levels (TRLs) were developed by NASA during the 1970s and are a widely used method for communicating the technical maturity of a technology during its research, development and commercialisation phase.

  • TRL 1 – Basic principles observed
  • TRL 2 – Technology concept formulated
  • TRL 3 – Experimental proof of concept
  • TRL 4 – Technology validated in lab
  • TRL 5 – Technology validated in relevant environment
  • TRL 6 – Technology demonstrated in relevant environment
  • TRL 7 – System prototype demonstration in operational environment
  • TRL 8 – System complete and qualified
  • TRL 9 – Actual system proven in operational environment (competitive manufacturing)